Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Sincerely, Mayla

(Just As I Am Series #2)

by Virginia Smith

Published by Kregel Publications (2008)
256 pages

After quirky Mayla Strong is laid off from her job, she finds that is only the beginning of her problems. Soon she is battling winter storms, frozen rabbits, angry friends, and a church gossip chain, all without the comfort and support of a boyfriend—therein lies another problem.

Yet, strong-willed Mayla is determined to work her way through her issues and does so by flying off to Florida to visit her aunt and cantankerous grandmother. Unfortunately, her struggles follow her to Florida. Literally.

With all the problems trailing after her, will Mayla manipulate those around her to get what she wants, or will she learn that her ultimate strength comes from surrendering to God?

Author Virginia Smith has created a colorful and witty character in Mayla Strong, one that resonates with today’s twenty and thirty-somethings in particular. Smith uses humor to tackle difficult and complex issues, wrapping them in arms of love and grace.

While Sincerely, Mayla is the second book in the series, it can definitely be read as a stand-alone novel. But then, you’ll probably want to go back and read Mayla’s story in Just As I Am.

No comments:

Post a Comment